Search This Blog

May 16, 2014

UAA faculty named career and technical education instructor of the year

Darrin G. Marshall accepts the David G. Stone Post-Secondary Career and Technical Education Instructor of the Year Award
Darrin Marshall accepts the David G. Stone Post-Secondary Career and Technical Education Instructor of the Year Award. Pictured from L to R: James Greeson, Alaska Sales & Service; Doug Ward, Alaska Workforce Investment Board; Jeff Libby, UAA; Darrin Marshall, UAA; Craig Defendorf, UAA; Dianne Blumer, Commissioner, Alaska Workforce Investment Board; Dennis Massingham, UAA

UAA faculty member Darrin Marshall was named the David G. Stone Post-Secondary Career and Technical Education Instructor of the Year in a ceremony held at the Muldoon Job Center on May 14.

The award is sponsored by the Alaska Workforce Investment Board whose mission is to support education and training that lead to employment and careers. Members of the board are appointed by the governor to lead planning and coordination of Alaska’s public workforce and development system.

To be eligible for the award, individuals must be nominated by members of business or industry and employed full-time as classroom or laboratory instructors or administrators in a postsecondary career and technical education program that is directly related to business/industry training and or employment.

“I feel what teachers do will impact students for the rest of their lives,” said Marshall. “There is a great deal of pressure to give students the best information possible to ensure their success. I tell the students that I will give them 120 percent, and all I expect in return is 100 percent.”

Marshall’s nominators were quick to note the scope of his contributions to career and technical education. An instructor in the UAA Community & Technical College’s Transportation & Power Division, Marshall teaches the General Motors Automotive Service Educational Program (ASEP). He also chairs the curriculum committee for the International Association of General Motors Automotive Service Educational Program (IAGMASEP) and the Alaska automotive technology competition for SkillsUSA.

Marshall is committed to professional development, and his advanced level of training is evident in his teaching. His students experience a high success rate in passing Automotive Service Excellence (ASE) and manufacturer-specific certifications. He also delivers professional development training for General Motors dealership technicians and supports training for Chrysler and Ford.

“Darrin Marshall is a leader in the Career and Technical Education field,” stated his nomination letter signed by members of Anchorage’s automotive industry. “He provides a model for other CTE teachers to follow and is eager to learn from his colleagues and share what he learns with colleagues, students, and working technicians. He is well deserving of this award.”

Congratulations on receiving this honor, Darrin!

Download the official news release from the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

Story by Kirstin Olmstead, CTC Communications Coordinator